Daily Prompt: No, Thanks – Hawaii

Is there a place in the world you never want to visit? Where, and why not?

I have absolutely no desire to ever visit Hawaii. It may be absolutely gorgeous and tropical…even a great place for a vacation. But, who would ever want to be trapped on an island in the middle of a natural disaster?

If the volcano erupts or a hurricane comes, you are stuck and not aloud to leave . Two years ago, my parents asked me if I wanted to go on vacation with them to Hawaii… I didn’t, but while they were there the tsunami happened in Japan.

After the tsunami occurred, a massive wave was sent across the ocean all the way to the US. My parents were woken in the middle of the night and told they could either go to the top floor of their resort and wait out this wave or start hiking to higher ground. I’m sorry, but the phone calls that they had to make just shouldn’t be something anyone ever has to go through. My mom called everyone and left messages for everyone in the family letting us know what was going on and that she was very scarred 😦

My parents trip obviously made my thoughts of the islands even worse. I don’t even know if I’ll ever be able to visit Europe with my fears of flying over the ocean.

I’m such a big baby haha!!

Daily Prompt: No, Thanks.

Leave a Reply

