The Daily Prompt: Nightmares

Describe the last nightmare you remember having. What do you think it meant?

I don’t have nightmares very often, but when I do they always seem to involve something horrible happening to my pets  or family.

I am probably the most paranoid person when it comes to my dogs. I treat my dogs like my kids. I constantly worry about them getting sick, out of the gate, other dogs and animals and like a million other things.

My last nightmare I had came about a week or so after we started seeing owls sitting in our backyard watching my yorkie Piston. I’ve heard tons of stories about owls grabbing small dogs or cats for dinner and it had already happened to one of my cousins. My husband and I had to start standing outside with him at night while he was out and this thing would literally still dive bomb him.

In my dream, Sam had let Piston outside by himself and he was snatched up by an owl. I saw the talons stab into his stomach and heard him squeal/whimper. I woke right up and searched my bed to find where the heck he was. Obviously, this made me even more paranoid and I’m always watching him outside now haha.

Leave a Reply

